Advanced search

New Delhi > General Information on Luxembourg >

General Information on Luxembourg


Official designation     

Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg

Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 

Political regime   Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
Head of the State   His Royal Highness the Grand Duke 
Prime minister     H.E.M. Xavier BETTEL
National language   Luxembourgish (Lëtzebuergesch)
Administrative languages       Luxembourgish, French, German
Capital         Luxembourg-City (124,528 inhabitants 31.12.2020)
Administrative divisions   3 districts (Luxembourg, Diekirch, Grevenmacher), 12 cantons, 106 municipalities
Surface          2586 Km2 (999 sqm)
Population   634,730 inhabitants (1.1.2021)
The three national symbols of the Grand Duchy            

The State coat of arms, the Luxembourg

flag and Ons Heemecht


LU flag

Official links to comprehensive information on Luxembourg: